A Theme for the Year

Happy New Year! What an exiting time for those who love to set goals — and those who just want a fresh start to life! I, personally, am a goal maniac. I love to set them, along with elaborate plans and list of what to do to achieve them. Sometimes I succeed, sometimes I partly succeed and other times it’s a flop. I still maintain that I always learn from the experience.

I read this article and while I think it had some great points about creating systems, I don’t think people should give up completely on setting goals and resolutions. While systems and habits move our lives forward, goals can give us purpose and act as a driving force. They can outline specific milestones that will propel us forward. But what of the “reduced happiness” with ourselves and “unnecessary stress” that causes? We need to recognize what we did accomplish in the trying. Will we stop pushing ourselves once we’ve accomplished our goal? That really depends on the individual. Just because you finished training for a marathon, doesn’t mean you can’t set a goal for the next one or maybe even the IRONMAN; it doesn’t mean that you can’t create systems and daily habits that will compliment your goals, but continue even after you’ve accomplished what you set out to do!

I think everyone is different and the most important thing is to find what works for you, and not give up on trying to improve yourself and your life. As for me, I have a theme to base my goals on, and systems to make them attainable and a part of my daily life.

A friend of mine told me about using a single word to set a theme for the year, and a love the idea of it, so this year I have made DEVELOP my word. Examples of goals and systems are as follows (keeping in mind that there will be more specific timelines and plans for each):

  • Develop my writing. Write five days a week for at least on hour (It’s a good thing my hubby supports me in this!) I also have a list of books I need to read on the craft.
  • Develop my music. Every afternoon pick up either the guitar or violin and play for at least 15min (or a close approximation of playing!)
  • Develop my endurance -running or cycling up to 5 km. After a couple of babies I can’t do much without huffing and puffing. Run or cycle every other day.
  • Develop my relationship with Christ. Before I get started on anything else in the morning (besides meeting the needs of my kids) sit down with my scriptures and study journal, seeking references to the Savior and his love for me. (there us a lot more involved in this one, but you get the idea:)

I find as I consider my theme, it not only affects my goals, but also the very molecules of what I want my year to look like, and who I want to become.  I wish you the best as you plan your year and make plans to become the person you want to be!

having-goals

About angelacouch

I love my husband, play with my children, write novels and try my best to live life to the fullest!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

